“The Mortal Instruments” series by Cassandra Clare


There are three books in this series; City of Bones, City of Ashes, and City of Glass.  There is another trilogy in the works, and it sounds great.

This was a wonderful series, geared toward young adults but still a fun read for lovers of fantasy novels.  Cassandra Clare sets up an alternate world, with a view of all kinds of night creatures that is both familiar and refreshing.  It takes place in a modern New York, but one populated by many of the things we once feared were hiding in our closets or under our beds.  And we meet those people tasked to keeping the darkness in check- the Shadowhunters.

The storyline she sets up is excellent.  Each book has its own plotline, and could stand alone if it needed to.  In City of Bones, we find out that our world is not only on the brink of chaos, but that it has been for a long time- and things are about to get a lot worse.  In City of Ashes, we learn that things were far more dangerous and chaotic than we could have possibly guessed.  And in City of Glass, we learn that things had to happen this way- indeed, there was no other path our characters could have taken.

I highly recommend the entire series.  It was interesting and exciting for both my wife and myself, and still something I would recommend to my 12yr old daughter.  Here’s the Amazon.com link;





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: