Yeah, but what ELSE is he up to…?

Hello everyone! It occurred to me the other day that in a lot of the updates I post, I say something along the lines of “Sorry it’s been so long, family life has been busy,” blah blah blah… but I haven’t said anything about what it is that I’ve been up to. So here’s a little slice of why I haven’t been writing as much as I used to…

Like a lot of people in the US right now, I’ve been out of work for just over two years. And while at face value, being unemployed sounds like it’d give me more time to write, the other implication is that my wife and I can’t afford day-care for our young son anymore, so I’ve been hanging out with him a lot. Which, in my opinion, is actually a big, thick, silver shell on the unemployment cloud, because I’ve gotten closer to my son than a lot of dads have a chance to get. However, combine that with the constant job-search, and my writing time has actually declined. The Turned was going fairly steadily for a long time, but I wrote most of the first book before I started publishing it here – in fact, I had written The Turned, half of The Believers, and a good portion of Assault On Lone Star when I first started using WordPress. So keeping updates regular was pretty easy.  It was last August when I really ‘caught up’ to where I was writing.

Then, last October, I went and started a business. I’ve been doing fine woodwork since 2003, but I found a particular niche, and I’m doing my best to fill it.  Here’s a link to the Facebook.com page:

http://www.facebook.com/villandwoodshop

No, I haven’t put a zombie on a box yet. In the next batch I do plan to try a Jolly Roger, and I have an idea for a cool, tribal-looking double-eagle thing.

And as if that wasn’t enough stuff to do, my wife (who has also been laid off recently) started a little business, too!

http://www.hard-rock-reviews.com

It’s not that Angela knows everyone in the music business, and can get backstage just by calling John Connelly of Sevendust on the phone (well, ok, she does know those guys really well). She just knows who to ask for, how to speak to them as a professional… and then she puts out great interviews and takes awesome photos.  In this past week, she interviewed the aforementioned Mr Connelly, Zakk Wylde, one of the guys from Cake, and a bunch of other rockstars that happen to be rolling through Madison, WI in the next few weeks. While you can find music news all over the web, Angela has a knack for finding out what is going on behind the scenes. Good stuff.

Anyways, that’s where I’m at. I’ve got a bunch of little kinks to work out with The Immune, but the over-arching plot line is pretty much figured out (*snicker* wait till you guys read what happens to Alexia!) and after that, I have a wonderful story that takes common fairy mythology and turns it into a creepy suspense thriller (sort-of inspired by the way Brom’s book, The Child Thief, turns the Peter Pan story back to its dark roots) and a pair of story concepts just waiting to be put into words. For whatever reason, the sick creative spark that resides in me has lots, lots, LOTS more strange things to say.

Stay tuned! Tell your friends! And please, spread the word – it makes me smile (in an evil way) when I see a lot of people reading these stories, and more so when you leave comments about them!

Kase

Leave a Reply

